Crochet Planter

Crochet Planter

I’ve got a lot of time on my hands at the moment (and also a lot of things going round in my head!) and, although I didn’t realise it straight away, what I needed to take my mind off things was a new crochet project that was quick and easy. Modern Crochet by Molla Mills provided me with a project that was just that.

Ok so I have to admit, Modern Crochet was actually a book I purchased for Soph for her birthday however due to a slightly embarrassing error on my part (which I will explain fully in a joint post Soph and I are planning to do) I ended up with a copy too. The book itself is gorgeous (!) and Soph and I are planning to review it soon (watch this space guys!) but in the meantime I’m going to have to tell you about the lovely crochet planter I made from the book as I literally cannot contain my excitement about it!

Modern Crochet

So the project itself was for a basket, not a crochet planter, but as soon as I saw it I instantly thought with a slight adaption it could provide me with beautiful little crochet planters to put my herbs in! I know, maybe this wouldn’t have been the first thing to spring to mind for most, but I love herbs and have been intending to make some cute little planters to put my beloved basil, flat-leaf parsley and thyme in for a while. Herbs are so important they deserve lovely little pots to sit in right?!

Unlike other projects this one used rag rug yarn and a large 9mm hook. I’ve never crocheted with thick yarn or a large hook so after purchasing both from my lovely local store Wool on the Exe (which I promise to write about soon!), I was more than excited to set to work. 3 hours and a slight adaptation later and I was sat there staring at my first crochet planter feeling super smug.

crochet planter 5

Crochet planter 1

The project was easy to follow and because it was using such thick yarn it came together really quickly giving me instant satisfaction (ideal!). The resulting pot looks great and as well as giving my basil a bit of street cred and it also made me spend some time relaxing and focusing on something I enjoy (rather than ruminating on the difficulties in life!). Maybe I should make one of these bad boys every weekend?!

Crochet planter

Leave a comment